Green Cleaning

Laundry Detergent

Yes, I make my own laundry detergent. This statement usually gets me a few funny looks, a lot of people ask why — I explain that I’ve always had super sensitive skin, plus I have been removing products from my life that are full of chemicals, colors, and fragrances for the safety of myself, my husband, pets and in the future, kids. Besides, commercial laundry detergents (at least the powdered kind, but probably both) have a lot of filler (aka stuff you pay for that does absolutely nothing but beat up your clothes, causing them to wear out faster). Once I explain the why, they usually ask how with genuine interest — and now I’ve even had a request to make someone some for their birthday. Well, that person will get theirs, but now you can make your own too!

It’s very simple, I found the recipe on the great interwebs. It’s a powdered detergent and has been working wonderfully for me but if you prefer liquid detergent, there are several make your own recipes out there.

For a double batch, you will need:
2 bars natural soap (Fels Naptha laundry bar is what I’ve been using, but it still uses fake-y fragrance so on my next batch I’m switching to Dr. Bronners unscented baby bar)
2 cups Arm and Hammer Super Washing Soda
2 cups 20 Mule Team Borax
essential oil in whatever scent you prefer, currently I’m using lemon but I can’t wait to try peppermint, too!

In a food processor with a grater attachment grate the bars of soap. Switch to a regular blade and process until soap is a fine powder. Add the Washing Soda and Borax and pulse until well blended. Add in 5-10 drops of your favorite essential oil and pulse to blend. That’s it. Add just 1 tablespoon of detergent to each wash load. Use 1/2 to 1 cup of vinegar in the rinse as a fabric softener if you desire. You’ll get 80+ loads of laundry out of a double batch of detergent.

3 thoughts on “Laundry Detergent

  1. I just made a batch of laundry detergent myself. My husband didn't think that the 1/4 cup ( it made a liquid detergent) my recipe called for would work but I know it does because I have a handkerchief that has had a stain on it for the longest time and one wash with my detergent and it is almost gone! I think I will try the recipe you have next time though

Leave a Reply

