Recipes

Spinach and Feta Quiche


I realized today, my egg pick-up day, that I still had half a dozen eggs left from last week. When considering what to do with extra eggs, I almost always default to quiche. I love quiche, for many reasons. It’s delicious, first and foremost, but it’s also easy to make, great for any meal of the day, and I almost always have everything I need to make it on hand. It’s also a great way to use up leftovers. I happened to have some frozen spinach and some leftover feta cheese on hand, so I decided to go with those, and at the last minute I decided it needed something else and lo and behold, I found some sundried tomatoes on the bottom shelf of the refrigerator, so in those went, too. Here’s the recipe I made up:

1 frozen deep dish pie crust (you can certainly make your own, I’ve never had much luck with pie crust, so I cheat)
½ medium yellow onion, chopped
2 large cloves garlic, minced
1 10oz. package frozen spinach, thawed and squeezed dry
4-6 oz feta cheese
6-8 large sundried tomatoes packed in oil (or rehydrated if using dried), chopped
5 eggs
¾ cup milk
1 teaspoon herbs of your choice, I used Parisien Bonnes Herbes by Penzey’s, my absolute favorite blend of herbs but a mix of oregano, thyme, and basil would be appropriate with the other Greek flavors in this dish
¼ teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon fresh ground black pepper

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Sauté onion and garlic over medium heat in a little olive oil until translucent, about 3-4 minutes. Remove from heat and allow to cool. Line pie crust with foil and bake crust 10 minutes in preheated oven. Meanwhile, beat eggs and milk in a large bowl. Add herbs, salt and pepper, stir in feta, spinach, tomatoes and sautéed onions and garlic. Pour into prebaked pie crust, cover edges with foil and bake 30 minutes. Remove foil and bake 15 minutes more or until a sharp knife inserted in center comes out clean.

Leave a Reply

