Recipes

A quick weeknight meal…or, "What can I do with this?"


Market of Choice had some beautiful scallops on special this week (I know, not very “local” or “green” of me). The weather’s been nice, until today, but our barbecue is not working, a shame because I would’ve loved to wrap them in bacon and throw them on the grill. I love seafood and pasta, but I didn’t want anything too heavy like an alfredo. I rifled through the pantry and freezer and came up with this:

Scallops and Spaghetti

(Measurements are estimations, I cook from the hip.)

3/4 pound scallops
1/3 – 1/2 pound spaghetti or other pasta
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 roma tomatoes, chopped (you could use a can of diced tomatoes instead)
1/2 – 1 cup frozen chopped spinach (a couple handfuls)
A couple shakes of dried herbs

Cook spaghetti in a large pot of boiling salted water 8-10 minutes, until al dente. In a large saute pan, saute garlic in olive oil until translucent, add dried herbs. Add spinach, cook until warmed through. Add chopped tomatoes and scallops, season with a little salt and pepper. When scallops are cooked through, toss in spaghetti. Serve with parmesan cheese, if desired.

Total time, about 20 minutes.

One thought on “A quick weeknight meal…or, "What can I do with this?"

Leave a Reply

