Recipes

Dinner on the grill

Our barbecue has been out of commission for a little while, which didn’t bother me until the weather started to improve. At the first sign of cloud breaks I’m itching to cook outside. Meals on the grill are my favorite, prep is minimal and everything cooks at the same time so I don’t have to manage multiple pans, and clean up is a breeze. Luckily we easily found the replacement part our grill needed and, wasting no time, I prepped our meal while Jared installed it.

I found some beautiful local whole trout at Market of Choice earlier this week. Fish can be tricky, as it can fall apart while cooking, so it’s usually best left to oven preparation. But a whole fish can hold up to the grill or the stove top, though you still have to be gentle with it. I decided it would be less likely to fall apart if I cooked it in a foil pouch. I kept the prep very simple, some salt, pepper, dill, and lemon inside and out.

Close up the pouch, tightly crimping the edges.

Grill on high for 6 minutes, turn the foil pouch over and cook another 6 minutes. Carefully open one corner of the pouch and check the fish for doneness, the flesh should be lighter in color and flake easily but not be dried out.

I served this with grilled artichokes and aioli.

Leave a Reply

