Recipes

Traditional Cobb Salad

Jared does love a good Cobb salad, so when we were in Florida we had to stop in at Disney’s Hollywood Studios copycat of the Brown Derby restaurant. The original Brown Derby is the inventor of the famous salad. We were surprised at what arrived at our table, not what you’d get anywhere else if you ordered a Cobb. It wasn’t drowning in blue cheese dressing and it didn’t have sad sliced up lunch meat. It was ah-mazing, so I had to recreate it.

I got lucky and found the recipe online, through Disney’s website, no less.

I did take a few liberties, as some of the ingredients are not usual items in my kitchen so I didn’t have them on hand. This is supposed to serve 6 as an appetizer, the two of us ate it all as a meal, though I was loose with measurements so it was probably a little smaller than was intended.

Brown Derby Cobb Salad

1/2 head iceberg lettuce
1/2 bunch watercress
1 small bunch chicory
1/2 head romaine lettuce (I only used romaine, as I didn’t have watercress or iceberg and I’m not even sure where I’d find chicory around here)
2 medium tomatoes, blanched and peeled (I’m not sure why, a little tomato skin doesn’t bother me, so I skipped this step)
1 1/2 cups cooked turkey breast, diced (I used chicken breast)
1 avocado
3 eggs, hard-cooked
1/2 cup blue cheese, crumbled
6 strips crisp bacon, crumbled
2 tbsp. chopped chives

Chop all greens very fine (they do mean FINE)(reserve some watercress for presentation) and arrange in salad bowl. Cut tomatoes in half, remove seeds and dice une. Also dice the turkey, avocado and eggs. Arrange the above ingredients, as well as the blue cheese and bacon crumbles, in straight lines across the greens. Arrange the chives diagonally across the above lines. Present the salad at the table, then toss with the dressing (below) and place on chilled plates with a watercress garnish.

BROWN DERBY OLD-FASHIONED FRENCH DRESSING
1/2 cup water
1/2 tsp. sugar
1 1/4 tbsp. salt
1 1/2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
1 clove garlic, chopped
1/2 cup red-wine vinegar
Juice of 1/2 lemon
1/2 tbsp. ground black pepper
1/2 tsp. English mustard (this is actually a spicy powdered mustard, which I don’t have on hand so I added a bit of dijon instead)
1/2 cup olive oil
1 1/2 cups salad oil

Blend together all ingredients, except oils, then add olive and salad oils and mix well. Blend well again before mixing with salad.

This dressing is really good, but this recipe makes a ton of it, so you can either cut the recipe down or plan on using it for lots of salads in the future. I enjoyed some of it on a simple salad of red leaf lettuce, chopped roasted hazelnuts, and goat cheese for lunch today. So good. Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Traditional Cobb Salad

  1. Cobb salad is one of my favorites also but I don't order it a lot because like you I'm usually not fond of the lunch meat some put on. This LOOKS delicious….and next week I'm making it.
    I dug out the seal-a-meal finally and it looks like new yet!!

  2. When at Disney and you have a meal that you like you can ask for the recipe and they will give it to you. they usually have them printed up in the back. My Husband got a rib sauce from them once and my parents have gotten a few from them but I can't remember what they were. Unless they have changed their policy on that.

Leave a Reply

