Uncategorized

Take it Easy

I’m sitting at my kitchen table right now with a bowl of Bob’s Red Mill 10 grain cereal and a cup of coffee with coconut milk creamer. It’s just seven in the morning and I’ve been up for two hours already. See, I, obviously in an altered state at the time, decided it would be a good idea to do a fitness bootcamp. Today was day two of a month long camp where I have to drag myself out of bed at 5 am to go workout, outside (did I mention it’s nearly June and still raining here in Oregon?!) for 45 minutes three days a week with a trainer. Monday I was wondering what I’d gotten myself into. I’m not an early riser or an exerciser, though I’ve always wished I was both.

Monday was hard, I was nauseous and could barely get through the exercises we did. My muscles shook, my legs felt like they might give out on me. The stomach was obviously unhappy about the small banana I’d given it, or maybe it was the jumping jacks. I was cursing myself for doing this and dreading another 11 sessions in the coming weeks. After the initial pain had worn off, I psyched myself up, “It’s only 45 minutes a day, 3 days a week, I can do that, easy, I just need to get in the right frame of mind. I need to be careful about what I eat before and just push through. It’ll be worth it in the end!” Boy, was I ever sore yesterday. That fed my motivation, “it must be working!” I told myself. When the alarm went off at 5 am I was worried, I had instant hunger. At one time, the thought of breakfast made me sick, now if I don’t eat I feel terrible and lightheaded. I proceeded cautiously, I didn’t want to end up nauseous for another workout.

I was nauseous all the way to the football field where we meet, I could tell it was not going to be a good day. I started slow, trying to breathe deeply during the warm up to relax. I thought maybe my problem Monday had been going full force from the beginning. Pretty soon we were into our workout and I was so focused on keeping in the right form and really feeling it in my muscles that my stomach didn’t other me. I didn’t worry so much about keeping up with anybody else, I set my own pace. My tiny piece of toast with jam and milk was sitting ok, and I’d brought Gatorade along with me instead of water so I wouldn’t spike and then drop in bloodsugar. It might be psychosomatic, but Gatorade makes my tummy feel better, too.

In the car on the way home I was feeling incredible. I did it, it was hard but it feels so good to have gone another day and pushed myself. I did what I could do.

I thought that being the “athletic type” came from a natural love of exercise, but I’m starting to think maybe it doesn’t have to. I want to work out for myself, for my health and for my self esteem and yeah, it can be really unpleasant when you’re doing it but it feels so good in the end to know you’ve completed it.

If you’re just starting to work out, take it easy. Listen to your body, as my trainer said, you don’t have to be superwoman on the first day. Yes, you should push yourself but you can’t expect to run a marathon on day one. Be careful about what you eat, too. It will probably take some trial and error, different things work for different people.

Bet I’m going to be really sore tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Take it Easy

  1. Good job Amanda!! They have a fitness boot camp at the gym that I go to and I have been thinking…just do it. I need to get in better shape for the OHSU study that starts in July.

  2. Rachel would approve your coice of cereal! I bought some the other day, and cooked some for her breakfast this morning-she loved it! (I don't eat breakfast, or I'd have tried it) I served it with milk,sugar, and cinnamon. (not much sugar-we don't do sugary cereals)

Leave a Reply

