Adventures in Food Preservation

Blueberry Lemon Jam

I ended up having to buy blueberries from the grocery store since the place was closed when we went out to pick berries last week. At least they were local, grown right here in Canby.

I know I said freezer jam was best, and I still feel that way about most fruit preserves. They generally taste fresher and they’re super easy to make. But this blueberry lemon jam is SO good. I wasn’t going to make it this year because I have so much strawberry and peach jam, but it’s Jared’s favorite so I had to do it.

Blueberry Lemon Jam

4 1/2 cups blueberries, washed and drained
1 pkg. powdered pectin
1/3 cup lemon juice
1 T grated lemon peel
5 cups sugar

Crush berries, one layer at a time, in a large saucepan. Add pectin and bring to a rolling boil, stirring frequently. Add lemon zest, juice, and sugar and return to a boil. Boil hard one minute, stirring constantly. Remove from heat and skim foam, if necessary. Pour hot jam into hot jars, leaving 1/4 inch head space. Adjust caps and process 15 minutes in a boiling water bath.

Makes about 6 half pints.

There is one thing I need to include here that I didn’t include with my other canning tips on a previous post: when lemon juice is called for in a cooked jam recipe, always ALWAYS use bottled lemon juice. It has a standard acidity level where real fruit can very significantly in acidity, and you don’t want to mess with botulism.

Leave a Reply

