Recipes

Peaches are still here!

Long story short. I quit my job at the beginning of last week. It was impulsive, but the right choice I think. I had no future there. But anyway, now I’m back at the restaurant I used to work at. I prep cook, but my favorite part is that I get to prepare the soup of the day and dessert of the week. I need creativity in my life. I made my first dessert yesterday. It’s still peach season (nearing the end), and the restaurant is just a block from the Wednesday farmers market. So, peach cobbler it is!

My friend Tiffany has the Grand Central Baking Book and recently brought this cobbler to a girls night and it’s awesome, so I found the recipe and made it for work.

I’d really call this more of a crumble or crisp, rather than a cobbler. It doesn’t have a biscuit-y crust like a traditional cobbler.

Peach Cobbler

1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 teas. salt
½ teaspoon baking powder
1 egg, lightly beaten
2 pounds peaches (about 4 large peaches), pitted and sliced
2 Tablespoons packed light brown sugar
½ teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
¼ cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, melted

Prepare to bake.
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Butter a 9-inch deep-dish pie pan or an 8-inch square pan.

Make the topping.
Measure the granulated sugar, flour, ¾ teaspoon of the salt, and the baking powder in to a bowl and whisk to combine. Drizzle the beaten egg over the dry ingredients while stirring with a fork to partially combine. The mixture will be floury and dry, with a few lumps created by adding the egg.

Prepare the peaches and assemble the cobbler.
Toss the peaches with the brown sugar, nutmeg and the remaining ¼ teaspoon salt. Arrange the peaches in an even layer on the bottom of the pan. Scatter the topping over the peaches as evenly as possible, given its lumpy, floury texture. Drizzle the melted butter all over, trying to get a bit into each area of the pan.

Bake.
Bake for about 50 minutes, until the topping is golden brown and the fruit is bubbling around the edges of the pan. Let the cobbler cool slightly before serving.

I caramelized some peach slices to top off each serving and am serving it with vanilla ice cream with a cinnamon caramel sauce. It’s a beauty, for sure. I’ll have to sneak a picture when I make it again on Saturday.

Picture update:

Leave a Reply

