Adventures in Food Preservation · Organization

Pantry Makeover and My Canning Summary

I recently started couponing after seeing some friends who have been really successful at it. I thought it might help me to stock up on things we will use for cheap. I’m still new to it, but today I saved $51.35 at Safeway on $109.09 worth of groceries. That’s 47% off…not too shabby. But, if I stock up on too much, my pantry might’ve exploded had we not given it a makeover.

Here’s our before:


Very poor use of space. It’s an under the stairs spot, it came with the one set of shelves right inside the door, we put the others in at the short end of the closet about a year ago. I was completely out of room to store any food, it was sitting on the floor.

After a trip to the Container Store and a few hours of work (removing the current shelves, spackling, sanding, texturing, painting…not to mention the shelf installation), we ended with this:


You might notice all the home canned goods on my new shelves! I’m very excited to have room for it all now, it was on the bottom shelf and floor before and easily forgotten about. Now it’s up in sight and ready to be enjoyed.

It turned out not too be too bad of a year for my canning, despite the sad weather which prevented me from having a garden. I didn’t have anything home grown to can, as I had hoped, but I had some nice farmers market stuff and apples from my dad’s house and some strawberries from other family. Here’s the final list of what I did this year:

Strawberry Freezer Jam
Strawberry Sauce (for ice cream or pancakes)
Peach Freezer Jam
Blueberry Lemon Jam
Pickled Green Beans
Spicy Dill Pickles
Apple Butter
Applesauce
Tomato Jam

Tomatoes are probably my most used canned food so I’m hopeful that next year I can put in lots of tomatoes so I can have some canned diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, maybe even homemade ketchup.

2 thoughts on “Pantry Makeover and My Canning Summary

Leave a Reply

