Reflections

Resolutions

Happy New Year! We’ve been really blessed this last year, we’re both employed, we have a lovely home, a happy marriage, and we haven’t struggled to put food on our table. For that, I am truly grateful. We have seen a lot of people struggle this year, lots of relationships end, and lots of heartache. It makes me all the more grateful for what I have and the people around me. Happy 2011 and I wish lots of blessings for all of you this year!

I’ve never actually made “resolutions” for a New Year before. I think they’re kind of silly, and it’s funny because they have a reputation of being things you say you’re going to do and then don’t. And why do you have to wait until the New Year to make changes and do things you want to do? I guess it’s a good way to measure progress, it’s easy to remember when you started. Whatever…

Anyways, these aren’t “resolutions” per se, more like things I’ve already been doing that I want to remain diligent on and how I’m going to do better.

1. Eating healthy. I have no problem with eating enough veggies or whole grains or any of that, I love healthy food….but, I have a horrible, horrible sweet tooth. I’m starting out the New Year trying to control this, I want to get better about sugar. I can say no. I CAN say no.

2. Blogging. ::hangs head in shame:: I know, I’ve made promises about blogging frequency before. So I’m not going to do that. But, I am going to try to maintain this thing better. I think it might be time for some changes, though. I’m more than just what the title of my blog is, I’m thinking of redefining it because I want to share other things here, too. Honestly, I just don’t cook as much as home now because I cook all day at work. I do cook, but not the big, impressive, time consuming meals I used to make all the time. Both the cooking and the “green” aspects will remain, but I feel like I want this to be more about my life in general….and I have lots of interests.

3. Volunteer. My sister and I started volunteering with a local food bank in the last month and we’re both really enjoying it. Seriously, my 14 year old sister LOVES volunteering at the food bank, she is so social, she just loves talking to everyone. I’ve been talking about doing volunteer work for a long time, I don’t know what took me so long. I plan to continue the weekly volunteering with the food bank but also explore other volunteer opportunities.

That’s it. Of course, there’s lots of other “goals,” more tangible things I want to get done, like putting shelves in the garage or finishing our patio, but these are the ongoing things that I want to become more lifestyle things than just projects.

Are you making any resolutions this year?

Leave a Reply

