Adventures in Food Preservation

Honey Lemon Jelly

For her birthday last year, my husband and I bought my mother in law Well Preserved by Mary Anne Dragan. It’s an excellent book, a collection of unique preservation recipes, just flipping through the book makes my mouth water. Pickled Asparagus? Blackberry Orange Sauce with Port? Gingered Pear Jam? Yes, please! I intend to get the book for myself eventually (actually, I accidentally purchased one of the same name on my Kindle and was sad to discover it wasn’t the right one).  I just couldn’t wait to get my hands on my own copy after Christmas dinner with the in laws, though. We had Honey Lemon Jelly with our meal and it became clear I must make the recipe myself, so I borrowed the very book I gave to her just to make it.

Honey Lemon Jelly

Makes 3-4 half pints

2 cups honey

1 cup sugar

2/3 cup fresh squeezed lemon juice, strained

2 tsp finely grated lemon zest

½ cup water

one 3 oz pouch of liquid pectin

Prepare the preserving jars.

Combine honey, sugar, lemon juice, zest, and water in your preserving pot. Bring to a boil over medium heat and stir in the pectin. Continue to cook and stir until the mixture reaches a full, rolling boil that cannot be stirred down. Boil hard for exactly 1 minute. Remove from heat, stir and skim off the foam if necessary.

Quickly pour the jelly into hot, sterilized jars, leaving ¼ inch head space. Wipe the rims clean. Seal according to manufacturer’s directions. Process the jars in a boiling water bath for 5 minutes.

Leave a Reply

