DIY

Sewing Desk

I’ve been on the hunt for the perfect small desk for our office on which to perch my new sewing machine. I knew exactly what I wanted. Small, to sit in front of the window in our spare bedroom/office/craft room. I wanted a student style desk with drawers down the LEFT side. (I learned a lot about desk styles while on the hunt.) Solid wood. Preferably vintage….but I’m flexible here. Cheap. I knew exactly what I wanted it to look like in the end and was fully prepared for a complete overhaul with paint, hardware, etc, so price was more important than appearance.

After several fruitless Goodwill trips, a stop into our local Kiwanis thrift store turned up just what I was looking for.

Just a guess, but I’m thinking the previous owner was named Tom.

And Tom liked baseball.

It’s a little dinged up.

But the price was right.

And so begins the process. It gets worse before it gets better. I started stripping the lovely red and blue paint off last night.

Can’t wait to show off the finished desk!

One thought on “Sewing Desk

Leave a Reply

