Home Decor

Decking the Halls

Starting at the front door: $10 swag purchased last year and a DIY bow (thanks to YouTube for showing me how), 3M hooks are my best friend

20111210-085412.jpg

Goodwill came through for me this year. Found four boxes of brand new lighted 9′ garland for $5 each. Two of them here, plus a couple cheapie clear railing hooks. It needs bows or something.

20111210-085428.jpg

Our tree. We went fake last year because the size of our living room demands a pretty narrow tree. It kind of makes me sad that we miss out on the whole hunt for a tree and the great smell, but it’s just so easy and it’s actually very pretty. Kept the ornaments to mostly silver and red. Found the silvery/gold tree skirt at Goodwill for $5. Could’ve sworn we already had one, but couldn’t find it anywhere in our Christmas tubs.

20111210-085904.jpg

Our giant mantel is hardest to decorate. I don’t have a ton of Christmas stuff, we just don’t have room for a bunch, so it took some creative thinking to fill it up this year. The tall candles and vase of twigs are there year round, a couple ceramic trees (which are my favorite Christmas decoration we own, I have 3 sets), more candles, a picture, and a cute winter scene in a jar fill in the holes. The 9′ garland fits perfectly around the whole mantel, thanks again to 3M. I love the green, black, white, and silver, it feels very natural and a little vintage-y to me.

20111210-085927.jpg

I love this! Epsom salt, ceramic tree, and a couple animals from the farm store toy section. I wanted deer, Jared told me a moose would be more “appropriate” for a winter scene, but I wasn’t giving up my deer so we have both.

20111210-085948.jpg

The picture is of Jared’s grandmother staring longingly at the Christmas tree as a child. I love this picture, I think it’s just amazing.

Ornaments and red chargers. I wanted to decorate the table, but since we only have one table (I don’t have a dining room that I can get all elaborate with), we need to be able to eat here daily, so I kept it simple.

20111210-090030.jpg

Better shot of the red chargers.

20111210-090040.jpg

The little shelf above the table. More ceramic trees!

20111210-090016.jpg

2 thoughts on “Decking the Halls

Leave a Reply

