DIY

How to: appetizer platter

Creating a visually appealing appetizer platter is not difficult. I certainly don’t claim to be an expert, but I have fun playing around with them. Here’s what I came up with for Thanksgiving:

Served alongside bread:

It was a small spread, just for 6 of us, but with just a couple tips, you can make a great platter big or small.

  • Vary your height, on my platter I used a small footed dish to hold olive tapenade and a smaller, low dish for jam.
  • Mix up color, red grapes would have given me a pretty boring plate, but green pops against the red jam and yellow cheese.
  • Mix sweet and salty. Fruit with a cheese plate is common, but I also added jam to spread on our mini toasts. Honey would be another great choice.
  • Lay out items in different ways. I fanned the cheese and salame, rolled the prosciutto, piled the grapes. It adds texture and interest.
  • Fill in holes. The great thing about grapes or berries is that they fill empty spaces well.
Leave a Reply

