Recipes

“The best meatloaf I’ve ever had.”

“This is probably the best meatloaf I’ve ever had in my life.”

Cooking is absolutely an act of love for me. I cook because I love the food, but mostly I cook because I love the people I cook for, so these are some of the sweetest words a lover of food can hear. This is what my husband told me tonight. I had the day off and spent the morning drinking coffee and catching up on some Food Network recordings on the DVR, about half of which was Pioneer Woman. She made an awesome looking meatloaf, that was the inspiration for my dinner tonight.

Ree’s meatloaf was a much looser consistency than I have always made mine. I didn’t so much follow a recipe, but I loosely based mine on hers, making sure not to make mine too dry.

Here is (roughly) what I did:

“Best Meatloaf Ever”

  • 2.5-3 lbs ground beef
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 3 eggs
  • 3/4 cup milk or half and half
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 3 Tbl fresh chopped parsley
  • 1-2 Tbl seasoning of your choice, I used a dressing mix from Penzeys…you could use the packets of ranch dressing mix, etc.
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup oatmeal
  • 8-10 slices bacon

Saute onion in a small amount of olive oil or butter until soft. Whisk eggs in a large bowl, add all other ingredients (except bacon), adding just enough oatmeal so the mixture holds together but is not firm. Mix the ingredients well with your hands. Form mixture into two loose loaf shapes and place on a greased sheet pan. Lay four to five strips of bacon across the top of each loaf, leaving about 1″ excess on each side (cut bacon if necessary). Tuck the ends of the bacon under and pull the bacon taut to pull the meatloaf into shape.

Bake at 350 for about 20 minutes, or until 135 degrees. Glaze with sweet and spicy glaze (recipe follows) or ketchup, return to oven until loaves reach 160 degrees in the center.

Sweet and Spicy Glaze

  • 1 cup ketchup
  • 2 Tbl brown sugar
  • 2 tsp dry mustard
  • 10 shakes Tabasco, or to taste

Mix all together well. Makes enough to glaze both loaves and extra for spreading on at the table.

This meatloaf is moist and flavorful, the glaze is sweet with a kick. My husbands only complaint is that the bacon doesn’t cut well with a fork, haha.

Leave a Reply

