Recipes

No Beans About It Chili

I only recently formally wrote down my chili recipe. Several years back I made a batch that was an amalgamation of many versions I’d found online, I took tips from each but my recipe wasn’t really in line with any one of them. It turned out fantastic! Figuring I’d remember what I’d done, I never wrote it down. Why do I do that? Always write it down! I always think I’ll remember things and I never do.

Recently I dedicated a day to recreating it and have come pretty darn close. This is a no bean chili, as my husband prefers it. In all honesty, though, I generally throw a can of beans in after he takes his portion.

I don’t make any claims of authenticity here, there’s all kinds of arguments about tomatoes vs. no tomatoes, cubed vs. ground meat, etc. This is just how we like it.

No Beans About It Chili

1 large yellow onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 lb. stew beef, cut into 1/2″ cubes
1.5 Tbl chili powder
1 tsp cumin
1.5 tsp oregano
1/2 dried jalepeno with stem and seeds removed, chopped
1 dried ancho chili pepper with stem and seeds removed, chopped
2 14.5 oz cans diced tomatoes
salt and pepper

You can do this stove top in a Dutch oven if you prefer, but I’ve given directions for crock pot here.

Start by getting your crock pot preheating on high.

Salt and pepper beef generously and brown in a skillet with oil of your choice (coconut or canola is fine, save olive oil for something nicer), do this in batches if necessary to not crowd the pan. You’ll want the heat up pretty high, you want it to caramelize on the outside, not just steam in it’s juices.

Transfer browned beef to crock pot and add the onion and garlic to the skillet to brown. Add to crock pot. Pour off a little juice from the canned tomatoes into the pan to remove any bits of goodness that cling to the bottom, you could use some beer for this, too, if you’re a fan of cooking with beer. Add that and everything else into the crock and give it all a stir. Cook on high 3-4 hours or on low for about 6 hours. Those times aren’t hard and fast, if you need to start in the morning and let it cook while you’re gone all day it’ll be just fine.

Add a can of beans if you want and enjoy. I hope you made cornbread!

One thought on “No Beans About It Chili

  1. It sounds like a lovely chilli. My husband also prefers a no-bean version but I give him the beans and then he just picks them all out!

Leave a Reply

